the popularity of online shopping has increased noticeably

In today’s modern world, thanks to the rapid development of the Internet, the popularity of online shopping has increased noticeably. This trend may have both several effects not only on the environment but also on various jobs related to electronic commerce. In terms of the environment, the rise of online shopping bring both pros and cons. One obvious benefit of this tendency is that it can help reduce the number of private vehicles traveling to traditional retailers as well as reduce exhaust fumes emitted into the environment from means of transportation. In addition, online shopping is so convenient for busy people who have a little time to go to the stores to shop. People can shop online at anywhere they want and do not waste much time. However, besides this benefits, it is undeniable that if people shop online too much, this will lead to the remarkable increase in spending plastic bags to serve for wrapping goods. This plastic bags released to the in environment is more and more rising, especially water body such as rivers and oceans. As a result, this will damage natural habitats of numerous marine species and exacerbate the issues of environmental pollution. On the other hand, this trend also produce negative and positive impacts on people’s emplyment. To begin with, when online shopping has become more popular which has created a variety of new job opportunities for people such as online sellers, online shopping consultants, delivery drivers and web designers. However, due to the dramatic rise of online shopping, brick-and-mortar store might face the risk of bankruptcy as well as people working there might lose their jobs and face unemployment. This will place a huge burden on the government to create alternative jobs for these individuals, which might take a long time and require a large amount of budget. In conclusion, the growth of online shopping can bring advantages and disadvantages to the environment and employment.