The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The huge internet companies and organisations acquire personal database which include users’ private knowledge. Although the disadvantages are not negligible such as; personal data share and violation of privacy, the advantages are much more significant, obtaining individualised services and solutions. On the one hand, there are substantial drawbacks related to personal information which held by organisations. The most significant one is malicious individuals or organizations might reach personal database by hacking or purchasing, and therefore the knowledge belonging to users can be marketed in online platforms to other application or company owners due to using knowledge for target group. Another substantial one, secret files, studies or images can be leaked by that organizations in order to reveal some unwanted information by users. Moreover, if this data is served to relevant institutions, having big impact on society, the info might be distributed every segment of society. Take apple’s iCloud accounts as well-known example; almost every actresses’ private images were published at online platforms, consequently this issue turned into crime. On the other hand, there are two major pros of storing information by companies to their users. The main one, taking more accurate consumer services which is individualised by the algorithm according to user actions on the web page or application. In other words, more tailored services can mitigate choosing new items and attaining better services with the assistance of customized applications that advise according to user needs. The other one, by becoming a member to any website, daily necessities can be fulfilled immediately, because of easy access and instant service. To exemplify, online bank account services cater for transferring many to all around the world or paying bills every moment without going to anywhere. By way of conclusion, while the privacy constitutes considerable concern withholding of private information by companies, the advantages getting more personalised service and meeting daily needs outweigh the disadvantages.