Loss of old-fashioned values

It is widely believed that a person's worth nowadays is judged according to social status and material possessions and old-fashioned values such as honour, kindness and trust are no longer considered to be important. The question that needs to be answered is whether such a generalisation can be made or not. In the early 20th century, the world population was wealthier in comparison to how it is in the 21st century. Therefore, in the past, more importance was given to relations built on mutual trust and honour. However, as world poverty and general disparity between the rich and the poor grew, there has been an obvious shift in the world view. Relationships, be in personal or professional, are built on monetary consideration rather than values. While there has been a definite increase in the importance given to wealth and status, it would be wrong to assume that this would automatically mean that there has been a degradation in old-fashioned values. In my opinion, it would not be right to lament the loss of old-fashioned values as there still exist people who appreciate and show values such as honour, loyalty and trust.