The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It has been observed that in last one decade the number of kids which faces the issue of overweight in modern society and the cases are increasing in surging numbers. There are several root causes of this trend and certain consequences are there. Both the aspects are elaborated in the ensuing paragraphs. Discussing the root causes, most importantly, the today's sedentary lifestyle. This is to say that, in the recent times, kids are hardly performing any physical activities such as playing outdoor games. They spend much more time on the cellphones and as a result they are unable to digest the food which they have consumed. In addition to this, most families have both parents working. As a result, they have hardly time to prepare the home cooked foods. Rather than making foods at home, they ordered or packed from outside which contains heavy caloric items such as cheese and butter. To illustrate, as per survey in USA most of the parents are taking the packaged food along with them after completion of their work. There have been several bad consequences of this trends. The most dangerous one is, kids have several health issues at the early age. That is, they suffer from chronic diseases as hypertension as well as cholesterol. Sometimes, they have issue of breathing too because of heavy weight they are unable to climb the stair case. Furthermore, due to this overweight, they feel awkward to attain the schools and meeting with friend circle. They feel themselves as a different than the normal person. As a result, they can not concentrate on their studies as well as their social life. To recapitulate, it is true that in the western culture the observation made to overweight children are increasing day by day. There are several root causes such as dietary pattern and lack of physical exercise. As a result the consequence are the victim of diseases and feeling of loneliness. Thus, it is very critical problem to solve in the current scenario.