The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It is obvious that eating fast food and not taking part in any sport facilities are completely making our society overweight. Yet, the residents of various western countries, especially adolescents are much more suffering from this aspect. This essay will be examined according to why this is a rapid growing issue by presenting its causes and consequences. To begin with, people will gain weight if they eat too much food or sugar content. It would be possible to control your weight by avoiding convenience foods, biscuits and snacks, and by making healthy choices at mealtime. A lack of exercise can also encourage obesity on individuals. They should take actions to stop themselves from becoming obese. For example, by going on a diet or taking more exercises as possible as they can. Some researchers claim that a more active lifestyle will help people to burn off the extra calories. Further, companies that mainly serve junk- food must take some blame for obesity among teenagers because they often sell high fat food in oversize portions. They should offer healthier alternatives and label their food with its calorie content. In addition to this, governments should invest money on developing sport centres such as tennis courts, swimming pools and so on in order to have a healthy society. To sum up, I strongly think that obesity among children is the fault of parents. This is because children are not exposed to unhealthy high fat foods too early in life or be allowed to develop a " sweet tooth ". It would be much more important if schools encourage healthy eating in children by providing tasty, healthy food at lunchtime. In this way, obesity will not be a problem for society.