The past few decades have witnessed an escalating rate of wrongdoings,

The past few decades have witnessed an escalating rate of wrongdoings, wreaking havoc on social stability and security. While a number of people opine that lengthened imprisonment is the greatest way to put a curb on offence, I firmly advocate that there are optimal alternatives to eliminate such an issue. On the one hand, there are sufficient grounds to laud lengthened imprisonment. Firstly, this not only reflects on their heinous actions but also helps them to receive sufficient rehabilitation through moral lessons and community services. In reality, incarceration can bring about transforming them into law-obedient citizens, thereby successfully re-integrating into the society. Secondly, people charged of felonies such as murder, drug trafficking and so on can have been isolated into society. Thus, the re-offender rate may be reduced and the society has become safer. Thirdly, prolonged incarceration results in acting as a deterrent to would-be offenders. Because if people commit a crime, they will be deprived of freedom for a period of time. Therefore, future offenders are likely to become hesitant when they have intended to break the law. On the other hand, it is my concrete belief that there are other superior measures to mitigate offence. Firstly, vocational schools should be erected by the government helping youngsters equip the basic jobs skills, thus they will have chance to get decent income. It can be explained that poverty is considered breeding grounds for heinous acts. Besides, if the proportion of the commission of a crime is minimized, which contributes to saving national budgets allocated for prison maintenance. Secondly, Ethics and Laws should become school curriculums, which helps students to observe the law so they can avoid performing illegal activities. For example, civic education subject has provided students the basic knowledge about laws, thereby helping them to have the consciousness of adhering to the law. In conclusion, it is my view that there are other appropriate measures not only to curb lawbreaker but also can contribute to social stability and prosperity.