The only way to improve the safety on our roads is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders.

These days, increasing road safety seems to be more on demand than ever before. Some people suggest that the only way of achieving this is by imposing severe punishments for road law-breakers. While this policy can be beneficial in this regard, I feel that it is not the optimum solution and that there are other effective approaches. Admittedly, in order to provide safety on the roads, penalizing driving offenders might be a good solution. This is because, oftentimes, careless motorists who ignore the rules and regulations on the roads are the main factor for traffic accidents. Therefore, if the proposed method were applied, this could make them more alert and law-abiding. For instance, those who drive intoxicated might stop this trend since they might be afraid of being charged huge fines or serving non-custodial punishment. Hence, it is likely that motorists will observe the driving regulations more closely. Nonetheless, it appears that other options would show greater effectiveness in ensuring road safety. To begin with, before getting his driving license, each candidate should sit a course aiming at teaching the virtues of heeding the laws on the roads. Roads, with those educated people, would hopefully be safer. Additionally, auto companies should better utilize technology in their products. For example, cars can be built in such a way that the computer can decrease their maximum speed in residential areas or near the intersection. This can probably curb the traffic accidents considerably. In conclusion, ensuring road safety by introducing penalties for driving offenders might be a promising way, but definitely not the only solution. In fact, I believe that educating the drivers and using technology in vehicles can be more efficacious.