'The older you get, life becomes more difficult. ' Discuss.

With Age, comes experience, but followed by challenges. The ever-increasing generation gap is creating a sense of insecurity among the old age people and is a relevant topic which needs to be discussed. In the essay, I will discuss the problems faced by the senior citizens and explain why it should be considered has a common problem. One of the major challenges faced by aged generation is to learn and compete with the younger generations. The technology has huge role in this, especially the advancements in computers. Many of the methods or even the jobs that were active a decade ago, is now obsolete. For example, with computers taking over the telegraph, many well-trained typist jobs become redundant. Hence it obvious if the elderly people, doesn’t upskill, their jobs and earning an income will be at stake. Another concern, is the growing medical expenses and the health issues related to age. With the change in food habits and addiction to fast foods, currently there a lot of age borne diseases. Many of such health problems needs long term medical attentions. For example, more than 50% of people aged more than 45, is currently diagnosed with Diabetes. The treatments for these health issues are not pocket friendly and often take away a huge money out their savings or income. However, I would say these issues are not specific to a particular age group, rather its cyclic. The reason behind the same is, the current younger generation will soon or later be going to experience the same in another decade or so. Thanks to the rapid pace in which cutting-edge technologies is evolving. Hence this should be treated as a repeated problem across the generations. To conclude, I believe we as society has the commitment to rectify such difficulties faced by the people older than us. The officials, should act and make policies to ease out the problems faced by the senior citizens.