Some people support modern developments in agriculture such as factory farming and creation of new types of fruits and vegetables. However, other people oppose this view.

Recently, there have been extensive developments and improvements in various aspects of agriculture, including genetically modifying plants to create new types, as well as factory farming. While some oppose these advances, others, including me, find them beneficial and necessary. Modern agricultural developments can help provide more food for the growing populations, especially in the developing world. Many new types of plants that are developed through genetic engineering, like some species of wheat or certain fruit trees, can produce heavier fruits or more seeds. Furthermore, novel methods like factory farming would certainly render many demanding agricultural tasks like milking cows and feeding various farm animals easier since they rely on automatic machines for performing such tasks. Some people argue that some modern farming techniques such as modifying the genetic structure of plants can be unsafe, and many animal rights activists find factory farming cruel to animals. However, it should be noted that extensive laboratory tests are conducted on any genetically modified organism before governments allow it to be produced on a commercial scale. Breeding animals only to be slaughtered might sound cruel, but the fate that would await them if they lived in their natural habitats is almost as grim. There arevarious wild beasts that feed on the domestic animals bred by humans, and the way they tear the flesh of their prey apart is far more violent than the painless death inflicted by automatic slaughtering systems. In conclusion, I think modern farming techniques and agricultural methods are necessary to meet the urgent need for more food worldwide, as well as being vital to the efficiency and practicality of performing farming tasks.