The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The wireless internet connection in combination with advanced computer and mobile technologies has revolutionised working life and provided an opportunity for some people to work remotely. However, even though the number of people who work from home is ever-increasing, this way of working has not only benefits, but also some drawbacks. Admittedly, there are some possible advantages of employees working from home, rather than going to the office. Firstly, remote workers might obtain more spare time than those working in the office. This is due to the fact that they may avoid time-consuming commuting and rush hours traffic and, therefore, will be able to allocate saved time on their hobbies or physical activities. Furthermore, as many people find it difficult to juggle family and a career, working remotely may provide them with a golden opportunity to be successful in both spheres. For instance, ability to be at home during the day prevents parents from neglecting their parental responsibilities and enable them to spend quality time with a family. Nevertheless, despite the benefits above, I strongly believe that employees are certain to face serious drawbacks from remote work. The major disadvantage closely associated with working out of the office is a significant decrease in productivity if a person is not great with time management and self-discipline. This is because without constant supervision and pressure it is difficult for some people to stay focused and motivated, especially having such distractions as house chores or children at home. Industrious employees, on the other hand, would possibly have difficulties with maintaining work-life balance and may end up working longer hours. While concentrating on a difficult task in order to meet the deadline, they may avoid even having breaks and, as, as a result, will burn fast. In conclusion, I am convinced that the drawbacks of remote work take precedence over its benefits because, in spite of increased leisure time, it is difficult for some people to avoid work-life imbalance and remain productive during the working day.