The number of people who are at risks of serious health problems due to overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent decades have witnessed an enormous growth of the obesity epidemic in many developed countries. There is not the slightest doubt that people`s health status will be seriously threatened by this issue. This essay will illustrate the main factors contributing to obesity problems and thereby elicit some feasible solutions. Firstly, current research has blamed the increasing overweight population on the ubiquitous junk food. You are what you eat. In order to be fit, one needs to eat healthily. Excessive fat, which is hardly digested has been regarded as the major reason for obesity. Secondly, by spending more time on TV programs and browsing the internet, people have fewer opportunities to participate in sports activities. The accumulated calories would be expended only if one does enough physical exercises. Last but not least, convenient transportation intensifies this situation. Trains and automobiles are the favorable commuting methods of urban citizens. When walking and running are excluded from modern lifestyles, more and more people have to face overweight issues. Thus a combination of unhealthy food, lack of physical exercise, and modern lifestyle has contributed to the rise in obesity problems amongst people. However, every cloud has a silver lining, governments should take the responsibility to help people escape from the obesity dilemma. To begin, the production and sales of junk foods should be strictly constrained, especially to adolescents. On top of that, public service advertisements about healthy diet and physical exercises should be released through TV channels and various websites. Furthermore, local councils should organize more sports events, pine participants' interests, and provide them with an incentive to do more physical practices such as walking, running, and cycling. Henceforth, it can be confidently concluded that the growth of obesity has significant relevance to the modern lifestyle. Governments are committed to guiding citizens to a healthy situation because health is wealth.