The negative effects of children watching too much TV

In the digital age, children begin to interact with electronic devices especially televisions and smartphones in their early years. This soon leads to an addiction of watching television as a leisure activity instead of doing other forms of recreation. Thus, spending a long period in front of the screen can leave numerously adverse effects on children. To begin with, watching too much television might increase the risk of developing the chronic physical disease. Watching television programs continuously for a long time can cause eyestrains and nearsightedness. Moreover, they spend less time doing physical activities which can lead to overweight and obesity. This can higher the risk of having high blood pressure and heart disease in their later life. Furthermore, spending an excessive amount of time watching television not only affects the physical system but also creates detrimental impacts on their mental health. Children might be exposed to violent programs without parental awareness. Thus, children start to imitate what they have witnessed on screen. Kids soon have behavioral and obedient problems. While some of them become reckless and rebellious, others seem to have self-insecurity and trusting issues. To conclude, watching television seems to be an indispensable kind of recreation for children these days. This can result in physical problems among children. Children spending too much time watching television have a higher chance of developing behavioral issues and self-insecurity. Therefore, the amount of time children sitting in front of the screen should be limited. More educational programs should be produced to help children improve their skills and creativity.