The issue of shrinking number of graduates who seriously consider teaching as a career has become pressing one in many secondary schools around the world in recent decades. This problem is caused by several root causes, however, there are still some of the workable answers to it.

The issue of shrinking number of graduates who seriously consider teaching as a career has become pressing one in many secondary schools around the world in recent decades. This problem is caused by several root causes, however, there are still some of the workable answers to it. The fact that schools worldwide fail to retain teacherscan be elucidated via the following reasons. One of the most plausible explanations is thatteaching in 21st century is no longer a lucrative job with dwindling benefits, and is considered to put teachers’ livelihood at risk. Teachers in this aspect would suffer a significant fall in living standard and even not be able to make ends meet, who end up having to leave the profession. Another culprit behind the trend is the lack of autonomy by teaching standardized curricula. Indeed, a vast majority of teachers these days are probably required to stick to scripted curriculum and prescribed classroom-management routines. This is an indication of lessautonomous decision-making for teachers and is more likely to make them quit the positions. Pay raise funded by the States and greater freedom given by schools can be employed to mitigate the issue of teacher workforce dropout. Assume that this somehow does not bring job satisfaction, with increased paychecks, teachers are able to cover their basic living expenses and more encouraged to stay in the field. This means more talented individuals will be looking to fill the increase in demand for teachers and helps strengthen the workforce. Besides, allowing teachers to havehigher level of autonomy would be another workable solution. For example, it is advisable for educators to give permission to teachers to deliberately create lesson plans in accordance with specific classroom routines. To this end, being up to tailor lessons to the interests of the class might be a contributing factor in attracting more potential teachers to the profession. In conclusion, teacher turnover is a very urgent issue occurring due to several root causes. Nonetheless, the problem can be eased by increasing earnings and providing more freedom and flexibility for teaching staff. Those remedies will paint a promising picture of future teaching workforce, if successfully implemented.