The Internet is often harmful, especially to young people, due to the amount and type of information people can access. 7b what extent do you agree?

Internet is expanding every single day, offering new information on various topics in hundreds of languages. However, although it is a treasure box for people around the globe, it also contains a lot of harmful content. It is believed by many that this type of information is especially dangerous for youngsters who can easily access it. While most parents try to control or at least check their childrens’ online activity, it seems to me that there are perils they’re not even aware of. Firstly and most clearly, internet browsers are available for everyone who wants to use them to search something. In addition to that, there is rarely some sort of censorship on social media that young people oftenly use. This means that various sites, content and information in general is easily accessible, even if those are not reccomended for persons under the age of sixteen or eighteen. Moreover, online environment holds tons of misinformation that circulates freely and it’s hard to stop or control it. Even though teenagers mostly posses computer literacy and can tell right from wrong, some information that is not correct can easily be disguised as true statement. This makes kids vulnerable to misconceptions, conspiracy theories and false news, that can alter their way of thinking or even harm them in various ways. Finally, one of the most dangerous things on the internet are hackers. Over the years, they have found more creative but arcane roads to our personal data, making us exposed to number of threats and dangers. For instance, children can think they are reading, doing or downloading something safe, but behind the curtains their devices could get hacked or their location shared. In conclusion, I shall argue that, no matter how much we think we know about internet safety or what kind of content is hundred percent correct, there are still notably huge uncertainities, particularly for younger generations.