The information revolution by modern mass media has both positive and negative consequences for individuals and for society To what extent do you agree

Nowadays, the information revolution led by modern mass media has become a prevalent topic for debate. Some people point out that they have positive consequences for both individuals and society, while others indicate that they are harmful. Personally speaking, I agree that the information revolution leading by urban mass media has both positive and negative effects on individuals and society. On the one hand, the information revolution led by mass media can help individuals and society prevent the crisis. To illustrate, since there are numerous coverage and predictions about the natural disaster on TV and the internet, they will inform individuals and society to protect themselves and public property timely. For example, when I was living in Japan, a country with a high frequency of earthquakes, I found that every TV station was broadcasting earthquake predictions hourly. As a result, my friends and I can protect ourselves promptly at that time. On the other hand, the information revolution brought by mass media could mislead the individuals and the society on prescription medications. In other words, since the drug industries spent numerous amounts of money on advertisements with a misleading tone and inaccurate information, consumers are more likely persuaded to purchase prescription medicines that they don’t need. For instance, a drug company promoted a kind of diet pills and claimed any consumer who took them would lose weight by 40 kg in a week. However, both my friend and I still kept the same weight and didn’t get rid of obesity after purchasing and using this drug. To sum up, the information revolution generated by modern mass media has not only a positive impact on individuals and society such as the benefit of preventing the crisis but also negative influence such as the misleading on prescription medications.