The inequality between rich and poor nations is now wider than it has ever been before. What do you think are the main causes of this difference and what do you think can be done to reduce the gap?

For harmony to prevail there needs to be parity between the privileged circumstances that different nations across the globe share. However, currently it has been observed that the economic imbalance between the affluent and the third world countries is at its zenith. Out of the numerous reasons and bridging measures, in this essay I will list and explain a few significant ones in detail. The lack of parity between these two worlds can primarily be blamed on the unequal distribution of natural resources. Mother earth has been kind to some nations in terms of the riches she has blessed them with. Owing to this geographical positioning some countries enjoy her financial kindness while others don’t. For example, the Middle Eastern belt of the world naturally stocks more than 2/3rds of the global oil reserves; a sure shot way for the nation to grow financially. Another reason I believe for this wide gap is the size of the population in underdeveloped states. More often than not populace in these areas is huge thereby adding up to their financial woes. The possibility of bridging this gap, even though tough, is not an impossible task. To begin with, the 1st world countries need to provide support to the underdeveloped ones. This help should not only be f nancial in nature but also towards sharing of knowledge, information, and technical know-how amongst others. Further, the poor nations can do well by helping themselves. Corruption is one of the major barriers that does not let them succeed. The people in positions of power in these countries need to realize the fact that corruption at all levels needs to be stopped if they wish to grow. To conclude, the imparity between riches shared by nations and the size of the inhabitants in the poor nations are the main reasons for this widening gap between rich and poor states, while appropriate assistance from the blessed nations and eradication of corrupt practices are the relevant steps that can be taken to fill up this ever increasing void.