The increasing use of technology in the workplace has made it easier for young people to find jobs and harder for older people to do so.

It is no secret that technology has been used by many companies and organizations in today’s business environment. Conventional thinking assumes that old people have trouble finding jobs because of new technologies. I believe that they have no problem adapting to this trend. Admittedly, most young people are familiar with the latest technologies, which gives employers a false impression that they are also good at technology in the workplace. Apparently, as adaptability is a necessary quality in an ever-changing work environment and most young people can adapt to new technology fairly quickly, employers might blindly believe that they could outperform older workers when it comes to technology. However, that notion is nothing more than a stereotype. Adaptability and the ability to cope with more and more use of technology in the workplace is one of the most important quality that employers are looking for, which is not exclusive to younger generations. Older people might be more capable of adapting to new technologies when compelled to do so since their families depend on them. As a result, they have strong motivation to get used to new technologies and working environment. Of course, other than the reason discussed above, I'd like to clear up the common misconception that older workers don't know how to use technology. In the workplace, technologies are more productivity-focused, which is not appealing to a youngster. With extensive working experience and willingness to learn, and the older applicant could have the edge over others. Also, it is highly unlikely that young people have more experience than older people. In conclusion, in terms of technology in the workplace, although millennials could have the upper hand, it does not necessarily mean that older people do not stand a chance. If a person is willing to learn and adapt to a new environment, there is always a chance.