the impact of covid-19 pandemic

On March 11th, 2020, the WHO announced this disease to be one of the worst threats to humanity and the global pandemic, which caused chaos across both domestic and international travelers, forcing them to cancel their bookings because of fears about the spread of Covid-19. This has left tour operators and other stakeholders unable to keep up, resulting in severe losses in a variety of areas. 1. The number of visitors and The Cancellations Bookings When blockade orders, travel restrictions, and flight bans have been established, the occupancy rate of hotels, resorts, and homestays plummeted rapidly, and the number of canceled rooms and tours skyrocketed. Moreover, as a result of the government's demand that firms enable employees to work from home, the number of business visitors also dropped rapidly. These have significantly affected on sales and revenues of the hospitality industry. According to Marriott International's latest business data, the tenancy scale in China fell almost 15% in March 2020, and the lease level in Europe and North America fell sharply to less than 25% from over 70% in the previous similar month (Research and Markets 2020). In Vietnam, there are millions of tourists in 2020 stopped or canceled their tours, with around 5 million international tourists, according to the report of the Department of Tourism (VNAT). Some big cities such as Hanoi had over 32, 000 visitors cancel domestic trips, while Ho Chi Minh City saw over 35, 000 tour programs canceled, including package tours, optional tours, services as hotels, flight tickets, and attraction. The majority of hotel and homestay companies have claimed that more than 90% of visitors refuse their bookings, and travel agencies have also reported that more than 80% of tour cancellation clients have requested a 100% refund owing to the epidemic's complexity. As a result, billions of dollars have been lost in the hotel and tourism industry