The image provides information about the production of electricity from geothermal energy in a geothermal power plant.

The image provides information about the production of electricity from geothermal energy in a geothermal power plant. The process which occurs in the ground prepares what happens on the surface where a condenser, a turbine, a generator and a grid are located. The first step consists of pumping water (H2O) at a low temperature beneath the soil at a depth of 4. 5 kilometres. Cold water reaches a hot area by flowing through an injection well and then rises hotter than descending water because it has been heated in contact with hot rocks situated in the geothermal zone. As it enters a container, H2O changes into steam which sets a turbine in motion creating energy that is finally distributed through a grid. To sum up, while in the lithosphere simple and natural tools are present, on its surface expensive pieces of equipment are necessary to convert kinetic energy (movements of a turbine due to steam) into electricity.