The idea of intellectual property rights is impractical as useful ideas are ultimately for service of humanity.

Intellectual rights protects the inventors from fraudulent activities related to their invention. These rights play an essential role but they are often considered as impractical as some people believe the inventions are for the society. In my opinion these rights are important and should not be considered impractical. To begin with, inventions can be used in both constructive and destructive ways. The intellectual rights helps the creators the right to protect their work. If the innovation is used for destruction than it can also affect other humans. Moreover, this can lead to a many more destructive inventions. For an instance, if COVID vaccine formula gets into bad hands than it can increase the black-marketing of fake vaccines which indeed would risk many lives. The risk of creation being used in catastrophic way is more than it being used in a positive way. Secondly, the innovations give their inventors world wide recognition. This can be fruitful for the creators as this could become their source of income. For example, after release of movie "3 Idiots" the author Chetan Bhagat became quite famous and his books were in demand. Furthermore, worldwide recognition would inspire other researchers also. The greater motivated creator the more useful the creation would be. In conclusion, the importance of intellectual rights is far more important as it promotes creativity and leads to the betterment of the society.