College and university students are often asked to do group work. Many complain that this is not fair, but teachers feel that it is very important for people to learn to work in a group. Is group work a waste of a student’s time?

Teamwork is very popular in college and university. Students will be put into a group with the same target or mission. Many people think that teamwork is not fair because the result of individuals can be negatively effected by others in the group. But in my personal viewpoint, I think that group work is very helpful and I will explain more in this essay. Firstly, Teamwork has many benefits. It helps individuals in the group to connect and share their information and knowledge. Each person always has strong points and weak points. Brainstorming will combine strengths to complete ideas and minimize mistakes. Secondly, In the teamwork process, members in the group will have opportunities to deeply understand and help each other. That is very important because it will help the student to improve their social and communication skill. Moreover, teamwork creates a space where the student can learn from each other. Nevertheless, Although the result of teamwork is very significant, the result of individuals shouldn’t totally depend on it. The teacher needs to consider individual aspects to ensure being fair. For example, the individual mark and the group work mark is 40% and the attention is 20%. Someone said: ” if you want to go fast, go alone but you want to go far, go together”. That is my favorite quote, teamwork will help the ideas of individuals get greater. By teamwork, students do not only learn knowledge but also develop many other skills. It is a good way to help the teachers to effectively teach their students as well as help the students to complete themselves.