The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

According to some people, instead of spending/wasting money or arts or theatre, the government should focus on public services. I totally disagree with this view. In my opinion, the priority should be given to the public facilities; however, we cannot ignore arts and other creative works. To begin with, many people assert that investments in these creative activities/pursuits is a futile practice and they want their government to prioritize key public welfare sectors. For example, areas like health, education and infrastructure have a direct bearing on the development of a nation. People need good education, affordable health services and protection from any adversity. Therefore, they want their authorities to allocate more funding to these public services first. However, people who support the government’s investment in arts reckon that these creative forms are the representation of our cultural heritage. These different art forms can become means of attracting tourists from all over the world which will eventually help the domestic economy. Besides this, by opening up new art colleges, young people can pursue their interests and take different art forms such as dance, music and acting as a career. Art can also become a stress buster and help people in escaping many mental health issues. Hence, arts need the government aid for the betterment of the society and for promoting our culture. To conclude, many people oppose the government funding in arts and theatre. In my opinion, the government should strike a balance and spend adequate amounts of money on both public services and arts as both are important for society.