Some people favor the concept of hosting international sports events hosted by a nation, while others believe it is just a waste of time and money.

Nowadays, many countries are organizing mega sports events to improve their economic growth. Some people favor the concept of hosting international sports events hosted by a nation, while others believe it is just a waste of time and money. There are valid opinions to weigh both sides of the discussion, which I will consider in the following paragraphs. It helps in providing a better infrastructure of the city where the event is hosted. It also builds the reputation and dignity of the host country all over the world. Then, it encourages tourism and creates bright avenues of employment. Moreover, the host country also earns very high revenue by selling tickets for the event. Eventually, arranging international sports events boost the economy of the host country. On the other hand, such mega-events adversely affect the daily life of the citizens. The government spends a lot of money on building temporary infrastructure to provide basic amenities and security to the visitors. Moreover, the government further recovers this amount from the people in the country in the form of direct and indirect taxes. By any chance, if the event does not happen smoothly, it brings blemishes to the prestige of the host country. Overall, I think, in recent years the people’s perceptions and attitudes have completely changed. Earlier sports industry was least preferred and underrated. But now, due to heavy investments and higher returns, it has become the most lucrative and desirable sector worldwide. Different communities worldwide have started giving respect and recognition to sports and the players as well. Therefore, to bring name and fame along with some financial benefits, hosting international events is profitable and acceptable.