The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce. " Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of

The president in his memo proposes the idea to install extra lighting around Amburg to fight vandalism and other crimes. One of the long-term aims is to restore neighborhoods which are declining. Although he presents some arguments to support this viewpoint, the memo indeed contains several logical flaws. First of all, the author relies on the experience of the other city which is Belleville to show the success of this idea to provide light throughout Amburg. Otherwise, the memo does not present any details on Belleville and its level of vandalism and committed crimes. Perhaps high-intensity lighting was a fruitful step, because the number of crimes and vandalism acts was low and the whole situation in Belleville was under control. Without any additional information, we can also assume that the level of criminality in Amburg is higher, thus providing lighting will not be the only measure to reduce this level. Moreover, the memo provides the information that after only a month the positive shift in the level of vandalism was shown in Belleville. In its turn, the city of Amburg has lately applied some steps to fight the current situation, thus we can conclude that more time is needed to see the progress. Moreover, more investigations need to be cared to extract more information on police patrols. First, it might be a good step to decrease the level of vandalism if the number of patrols and the area of their control are great. Also, since the chief purpose of the president is to revitalize some declining districts of the city, we need to be sure that providing high-intensity lighting will help to improve those suburbs. Perhaps, the main problem is the lack of work places or the low level of education. Considering that, investments to opening new schools for children or plans will be a more effective way to restore these areas. To sum up, based on the arguments provided in the essay, we cannot rely on the success of the idea to provide high-intensity lightening for reducing the level of vandalism and declining neighborhoods.