The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora. " Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens

The argument, fitness will increase when economy improves, rely on vague and unwarranted assumption therefore, fitness will not increase when economy improves. First, to pinpoint the cause of reduced fitness, author blames economy in worse shape, as a result people are not spending money on fitness-related product and services. However, it could be possible that people are working out at home and preparing a nutraceutical supplement at home by buying raw material. Also, the author states that the amount of money spent on the fitness-related product has reduced but doesn't provide any concrete number. The reduction of expenditure on fitness-related product and services could have been low in which case the argument is weakened. Next, the author refutes the reasoning of health magazine and points out that computer ownership can't be the cause of reduction of fitness and cites the example of Corpora where a large number of people are fit and a large number of people own a computer. However, how this conclusion about computer ownership and fitness level was reached is unclear. Was there a survey they performed? If yes, then what was the sample size? Were the people in the sample were representative of the population or not? It is equally probable that even though a large number of people in Corpora owned a computer, they did not spend much time on it and are therefore fit, proving the prediction of medical experts right. This, in turn, undermines the author's argument that fitness will increase when the economy will flourish. Third, the author already assumes that there are less number of people who are fit and has made this conjecture from the article in a health magazine. It is unclear what method was used by medical experts to reach the conclusion that only a quarter of the Corpora population meets current fitness standard in contrast on half of the population a decade ago. The fitness standard may have changed over the time and now must have become stringent thus, deeming a large number of people to be unfit. Moreover, it is obscure what methods were used by the medical experts to assess the fitness of Corpora population. It is likely that writer of health magazine ulterior motives to write such a number. Maybe he was bribed by the fitness industry to write such things and thus diverting people toward adopting a new lifestyle where fitness is of paramount importance. Since the number of people that are unfit is unclear in the first place, the argument that fitness will increase when the economy improves is unwarranted.