The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter Gorman Instruments a company that manufactures saxophones On this year s survey about work habits our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took les

The author recommends the employee should work for 40-hours a week allow overtime only for urgent circumstances. The author cites an internal study as an evidence to back up his recommendation. However, the results of the study are vague and therefore, the recommendation should not be accepted without thorough scrutiny. First, an internal study cited by the author points out that the employee who worked for about 48 hours a week made significantly more errors in the work than those employees who work for 40-hours a week. But, the author fails to provide any concrete number for the number of errors made by the employee. Also, whether there was only one worker in the group who made mistakes when working for 48-hours a week is not known. In case, where only one worker makes more error than all other employees working for 48-hours a week then the recommendation of the author is destined to fail. Second, it is unknown whether the employees working for 40-hours a week rectified their error after committing it? In case, they the employees working for 40-hours a week rectified their work, the internal study conducted by the author belies the true picture and therefore, the recommendation would prove to be counterproductive. Also it is unclear how much time each employee took to complete the task. It might be possible that those in the 40-hours a week group worked for longer time on certain days and did their work meticulously, as a result. Since it is unknown how much time each employee in both, 40-hours a week and 48-hours a week, took to complete the individual task. One of the possibility that employees working for 48-hours a week worked for significantly shorter time on each day through out the week. Consequently, made more errors than those employee who worked for longer hours but overall spent less time over the time period of a week. Third, no information about the sample size of internal study is given. Thus, it is imperative to know the sample size of the study and whether the subjects were representative of the population or not. If the sample size was significantly large like there were 200 subjects then recommendation may prove valuable. Conversely, if the sample size was small, for instance, 10 people then study does not necessarily represent the population and the results, in turn, would be apocryphal. Moreover, it is unclear whether the study was conducted by the disinterested member or those who conducted study had any ulterior motives? Only in the case, where study was conducted by the disinterested member and sample size was adequately large do the recommendation may hold true. But on the contrary, no such information has been provided and therefore, recommendation is unlikely to give the predicted result. It might be that those who conducted the study wanted to reduce the number of hours they spend at work and hence, rigged the result. In conclusion, since there are many questions unanswered, the recommendati