The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be a many as 29million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

The number of vehicles have increased over the years, and it has being speculated that 29 million vehicles will be moving on British roads and highways by 2030. I strongly support the utilization of other transport methods, and the institution of legislation on car use and ownership due to the various dangers it could pose. Opponents of car use limitation may say that road transport is convenient and cost effective. They may claim that it saves them the hustle and bustle of moving to different destinations as regards high cost of other travel means but they fail to see the environmental hazards excessive car use can cause. This is because the exhaust fumes from these automobiles contain toxic gases such as carbon monoxide and nitrous oxide. Thus, when these gases are getting increasingly released into the atmosphere, they can cause global warming. Furthermore, the use of other transport means can have beneficial health effects and environmental benefits. This is as a result of increased physical exercise which minimizes a sedentary lifestyle and has limited air pollution. For instance, in Norway, it was reported that the culture of biking amongst the populace has greatly impacted the air quality. Hence, other transport means are encouraged. In addition, enacting laws and regulations to control the impact of the ever-rising car use will instill the habit of a prudent car use. Consequently, it reduces atmospheric pollutants released by cars. In conclusion, Even though some may oppose the limitation of car use, I strongly agree with the notion due to the serious environmental damage it can cause. Therefore, it is important to implore other methods of conveying people and goods, taking note of the positive effects such as, a healthy lifestyle and limited greenhouse effect, and also to implement laws against car use.