The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The amount of car usage has been increased when compared with past years all over the world. In the early years, cars were mostly owned by the royal and high officials of the community, but with the increased public economic development and necessity of using the car for their regular work, the percentage of people owning has been going up. As the car is the most convenient and safest way of transport to the office/work for the public, most of them used it as major transportation. Due to the high usage of car as personal transport, the traffic on the roads has been gradually increased, which lead to the air and noise pollution. Most people using a car as main transportation, the demand for public transport has been decreased. For example, in a community a group of ten people traveling to same company by their own cars and the same persons traveled by bus will decrease the pollution, the number vehicles coming on the road, which also helps in decreasing traffic. The government should implement laws to reduce the number of cars coming on the road, they should also make public transport more convenient to the public and make sure that it is used by most of them. The amenities in the government transport should be provided and the operating routes should increase. A survey should be done in which routes the car traffic is high, in such critical roads the public transport facilities should be upgraded such that less private vehicles are used. By updating and providing all the facilities in the public transport to the people, we can observe a decline in car usage. The decrement in cars on road can help for free movement of vehicles on roads, this also improves the environment as pollution will decline.