The financial stability policy of the Central Bank of Azerbaijan Republic for 2021

2020 was a very difficult year for the world economy. Undoubtedly, the main problem in 2020 was the COVID-19 pandemic. Most of the sectors have suffered economic recession due to the pandemic. On the other hand, we have liberated our lands after the Patriotic War in 2020. During this harsh period, the Central Bank of the Azerbaijan Republic has made many decisions to suffer less. The main source of the Azerbaijan economy is its dependence on oil. So, during a pandemic, it would affect badly to us. As long as oil prices were $72 in 2018, this was $64 in 2019. However, this fluctuation was not only due to the COVID-19. In today’s corporate world, most countries are trying to utilize less oil and gas because of the preventing world from climate change. Besides that, the new US president wants foreign countries not to use oil sectors. And this will affect most countries’ decisions about the oil sector. That is why the CESD is trying to make decisions on non-oil sectors. Additionally, 2019 was expected to shrink by 4. 4% that was the higher than 2008-2009 financial crisis. This also affected Azerbaijan’s economy. During the pandemic, it was difficult to invest in the market due to uncertainty. This uncertainty decreased investments by 4% in 2020. Another reason for this, 4 banks were closed due to high loss, and depositors received AZN 615 million. On the other hand, banks were trying to change their strategies to strengthen the interest of consumers in cashless payments. This is why cashless payments have increased dramatically during the pandemic by 34%. To support investors in the market and the participation of issuers, the CESD gave several tariffs. Besides that, the government was trying to improve the agricultural sectors in rural areas. To do that, banks were offering soft loans for small and medium businesses. The main purposes of the Central Bank of Azerbaijan Republic in 2021 are keeping the prices stable and maintaining economic sustainability. The CESD will endeavor to control the inflation level between 2%-4%. On the other hand, plans for 2021 are shaped up in the context of the high level of uncertainty of the pandemic. The vaccination process will strengthen this year, and the countries are trying to return the normal life. Global economic growth is anticipated by 5. 2%-3. 9% in advanced economies, and 6% in emerging market economies. Oil prices are expected $48 a barrel in 2021. However, there are big challenges for the Azerbaijan economy in case of a decrease in the oil revenue in the next sectors. In light of the fact of increasing technology affects this as well. To improve agriculture sectors the government is planning to support the business in rural areas in 2021. It is anticipated by a 4% increase. Also, the banks will scheme the depositors to put their money in the banks. This will strengthen the level of investments in the market. These strategies will be satisfactory for sustainable price stability as a result of the competitive environment. As we saw in 2020, it will be tough to control the inflation level in the food sector, amid declining supply due to the COVID-19. According to the expectation of the World Bank, food prices will expand by 4%. The most foremost plan will be to focus on the growth of the liberated areas. The government is working out plans for those lands. These strategies will reduce the level of employment, increase the tourism sector, etc. It is anticipated the expansion of mortgage lending will play a vital role in the improvement of the real estate market. Besides that, the banks are devising various strategies and innovative payment instruments to enhance cashless payments more. In 2020, the CESD was seeking ways to suffer less from the COVID-19. Its plans permitted to maintain financial and macroeconomic stability. Also, it helped to control the inflation level, the purchasing power of the national currency, etc. And in 2021, the CESD will focus on the further improvements of the national economy, financial and macroeconomic stability. Also, low inflation, job recovery, effective coordination of financial and macroeconomic decisions will be prioritized by the government.