The factor influence people's personality and development

"Nature or nurture" is a long debated topic since related subjects, genetics, psychology, behavioral science etc, have started booming last century. The argument about which one affect people more still hasn't been solved yet. While some research have found that innate characteristics have much more effect on one's personality and development, this essay would claim that acquired experiences have greater impact in one's long-term development. Earlier studies usually focused on some inborn factors when it came to what shape a man's personality or determine one's success. In deed, many of empirical study found that there was a correlation between character type and development. Whereas, the total effect of this link was not strong and sometimes mediated by environment factors. The following scholars started to take some environmental variables into consideration. Take John Watson, a well-know psychologist, for instance. A baby can be trained to be a thief, a artist, a scientist. . . . . . or anyone as long as his supporter what him to be, according to his perspectives. Although this view is a little bit arbitrary, the role of learning is being more and more significant in the latest studies. In my view, in spite of a huge impact of characteristics on one's early life stage, experiences outweigh characteristics in one's whole life. Take myself for example, i think the education i accepted is far more important than any other factors for my development. Without the learning experiences in university, i would never be myself today. In conclusion, characteristics have influence on one's early development to some extent. However, the question of what kind of person you are and how well do you live are largely up to your acquired experiences.