The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

In the urbanization world, people live far away from their relatives and friend. Some people may say that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past and others disagree. However, from my vintage point the extended family has no significant value in a person’s life now. I would like to explain give reasons for it. The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that people have changed their attitude towards the moral values of life. Apparently, people are busy in their life as they want to pursue high aims in a career and want to become a successful wealthy person. In the past, the family was the top most priority for a person, nothing was more crucial than a family gathering and ceremonies. On the other hand, people do not attend any family events and consider as a waste of time. Moreover, people leave their family in a search of better opportunity and qualitative life, which results in the decline in love and affection toward the extended family. Now, people know how to maintain their commercial relation in order to accomplish their target, how to earn money and use it for own purposes, while in the past money was used for a family’s good and for a charity. The respect for cousins and grandparents do not exist now. Furthermore, when people get a time from their jobs, they want to enjoy their vacations alone, not with other members of the family. They believe in independence living. Thus, the moral values and respect for family are no longer available in a person. Another reason that deserves some words is that decline in interest toward family planning, result of that they have only few members in the family. A couple only wants to have one baby in a family, which limits the extended family. The baby grown up by herself and does not learn meaning of a family relation. A vivid example can be given to shed light on the subject is my own experience. I have four years old boy, who goes to day care as my husband and I, both do not have time. While in the past, grandparents grew me up with lots of love and care, therefore, I have more attachment to my grandparents. Moreover, I had two siblings, which strengthen my bond with the family. My son does not understand the meaning love and care for the extended family. Thus, kids detached from their relatives. The noteworthy refreshing intelligible statistics, revealed by a study conducted in a metro city of India shows that the modern people live to prefer by their own without others interference. The study was conducted among thousands of people by distributing a questionnaire about the extended family. Researcher concluded that ninety percent people do not believe in the extended family. To wrap up all, I firmly believe the extended family is less important now due to modern lifestyle and thoughts. The research supports my thought.