The Effects of Watching TV

Television has become one of the most popular media that is used worldwide for entertainment. Since they are very affordable, almost every households have at least one television set at their place. Then, what impact this electronic device have on human lives? This invention of television give us various benefits. For one thing, by watching television, it can distract us from our tension after a long hard-working day. Sometimes, after working hours, we feel drained and fatigued which is the reason why we would like something to refresh our mind. Television is one of finest choices for such cases as nowadays it provides a wide range of interesting programs. Television is not simply for entertaining, as a result, it also motivates individuals, especially children, to develop their abilities. Planet Earth, Discovery Channel, IELTS-face-off are some prime illustrations. Educational TV programs gives children the opportunity to enrich their knowledge about wildlife, science and more, as well as widen their horizons. Additionally, this brilliant invention keeps us up to date on the latest happenings in our area and around the world. We can quickly acquire all news, including breaking news like the COVID-19 epidemic, with just one remote control. While television comes with a lot of benefits, its drawbacks cannot be ignored. First of all, the physiological impacts must be included in the list. Too much time spent on sitting in front of the television screen is detrimental to our health. When people come home from workplace, they are usually eating while watching television programs. According to some studies, it is clear that people eat faster and consume much more when they are watching television. These action may explain why people nowadays suffer from various health problems such as obesity, heart disease, diabetes and depression. If you spend hours in front of the television, your eyesight will deteriorate. Consequently, in todays world a lot of children have to wear glasses due to frequent exposure to blue light from technological devices. Moreover, your posture will cause pain in your neck and back as well. Apart from that, we see how television is airing inappropriate content which promotes all types of social evils like violence, youth crime, racism and so on. After seeing so many these sensitive programs on TV, people start thinking violent actions which can be harmful to themselves and the loved one. Additionally, it also makes people addict. This causes lack of interpersonal interactions and impacts their social life as they spend their time in their rooms all alone all the time. This addiction also makes them more vulnerable and they might take their programs too seriously. To sum up, watching television can bring either various advantages or severe disadvantages. Parents must limit the time of their children watching TV and encouraging them to participate in outdoor activities. As for the parents, we must be more critical of what we see on the television and not consider it to be true 100%.