the effects of traffic congestion

With the increasingly number of vehicles, especially cars…, traffic congestion is one of the persistent problems in many major cities. In fact, it causes a lot of negative effects on people’s health and their personal life, as well as on the economic development and the environment of these areas. The first serious disadvantage of usually suffering from congestion is that it harms for people’s health. First of all, it causes respiratory problems. During rush hour, road users can inhale dust or engine exhaust. Consequently, it increases the risk of developing diseases such as asthma, bronchitis or even lung cancer. Besides, being stuck in traffic makes people stressed, when they suffers from noise pollution made by car horn sound or moving under the bad weather in a long time. Finally, it also wastes much their energy because of the slow movement of vehicles. The second disadvantage is that impacting badly on personal life of people. To begin with, it takes people much time commuting. They have to move their vehicle little by little, even stop completely at traffic hotpots. In addition, many statistics show that people tend to leave home earlier and return their home later in big cities. Moreover, it delays important works, for example picking up kids from school. Another negative impact is that it contributes to cause the environmental destruction. In the first place, it makes the air quality become increasingly lower. Besides, it contributes to global warming due to a high mount of the emission of greenhouse gases, released directly into environment. Furthermore, those kind of gasses also damage to the ozone layer. The final disadvantage is that it causes considerable damage to the national economic development. On the one hand, it has wasted the state budget. In fact, authorities spent thousands of billions of dong to find out a project that can ease traffic congestion or improve infrastructure. However, there has been no progress so far. On the other hand, it also reduces labor efficiency. To sum up, traffic congestion is a head-aching issue that causes health damage, stagnant personal life, the environmental destruction and the economic damage. Therefore, authorities should take more timely measures to tackle it as sooner as better. Personally, if everyone’s awareness of participating in traffic is raised, the problem can be solved in the near future.