The effects of science on the food we eat

Science has influenced the food we take for many years, which leads to debates over whether it is beneficial or detrimental to our health. In my opinion, this issue has both positively and negatively affected our daily diet. On the one hand, genetically modified food provides a wider choice for consumers. The innovation of biotechnology, especially in DNA changing, allows scientists to either create more kinds of food or upgrade the available food, taking “Flavr Savr” tomatoes as an instance. Moreover, food modification has opened a new era for commercializing once rare food, hence people get more access to a variety of food. Science has also had impact on the quality of food. Modern technology now has no difficulty in altering the chemical structure of meat, vegetables, milk and the like, which means scientists are able to raise the amount of such conducive substances as vitamins, fiber and remove some harmful or unecessary ones, contributing to our healthier body and mind. On the other hand, that scientists has affected food results in confusion. Initially, research outcomes change frequently. A typical example mentioned is research on eggs. Precedent scientists believed that eggs contained high level of cholesterol as well as fat, which factored in obesity; however, recent studies show that eggs play a crucial role in ones’ diet if they are trying to put off weight. Secondly, misleading lables are becoming more popular now. Manufacturers often mark their products as “scientist’s choice” with a view to strengthen the reliability and rise the price, whereas this is no more than a marketing trap. In conclusion, food researching is an ever-evolving process. Consumers should keep track with the official news on food from some trustworthy nutritional resources to gain a balance diet.