The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

Tourism has revolutionized the world and has led to an increased prominence for the English language. Some people believe that this will lead to English becoming the single language spoken legally. This essay will examine the main advantages and drawbacks of having a single universal language. The main advantages of having a single language rather than multiple local languages are ease of communication among several countries and an improved inter-country relationship. Due to a universal language, it would be really easy to communicate with other countries and access their resources. For instance, a US citizen can freely communicate with a Japanese and this would improve the revenue for Japan in terms of tourism. Moreover, Japanese are very hardworking and they can contribute some ideas for the US economy. The second advantage is an improved inter-country relationship. For instance, due to a single language, it would be relatively easy to exchange foreign workers and thereby fill the skill gap among the countries. The main disadvantage is the extinction of localism. Although it is possible to make English the primary language of a country, it is really difficult for every country to attain the level of fluency as a native speaker. Moreover, the accent differs from one country to another. For instance, Canada, Australia, and the US have English as their primary language. However, they differ in their accent. Furthermore, this leads to an extinction of local language and local culture that have been preserved by the ancestors for a long time. In conclusion, a single universal language is definitely beneficial for every country and improves the relationship among them, but it is certainly detrimental for the local language and damages the local culture in future.