The detailed description about crime will affect the people and cause many social resources. Some people say that the media should be strictly controlled.

Thanks to the technological developments in recent years, detailed information about crime are given in different ways, such as broadcasting a trial in a law court or establishing articles about the activities of criminals. For some people, this trend concern them that these descriptions may adversely affect the public and trigger huge of social issues. According to them, the media should be put under the strict control of authorities. From my perspective, I find this opinion justifiable to a certain extent. First of all, it is irrefutable that the detailed description led to some advantageous effects. While people access the sources of information about crime, for instance a televised trial, not only the basic knowledge about rules, but also the awareness of social vices may they acquire. Hence, the criminals rate is likely to decline. Should the authorities show the harsh punishment of the crime offenders, they act it as a deterrent that shield people from potential crimes. Besides, the students with the major in law can broaden their horizon in this field, as they watch these programmes that expose the offender profile and their mind. Therefore, students can obtain more knowledge about the trial, the criminal minds and the experiences in procedure. One case in point is the trial of Nam Cam and accomplices, a dangerous criminal gang in Viet Nam. In this trial, about 200 law students attending it learnt huge of information about the latest strategy to commit crimes and crucial skills to defend and prosecute in a court. However, the media can pose imminent hazards on society by giving content about felony without strict control. When these programmes are shown to the public, it can afflict people’s awareness. To specify, people with impressionable minds may imitate the illegal action, since they deem it as heroic. Moreover, when criminals’ information is provided to the public, their families may suffer from abuse and malicious comment, which can result in mental illness. The criminal are likely to be boycotted after finishing the penalty, thereby encountering numerous obstacles when they reintegrate back into the society. Last but not least, the media activities may make the law enforcement agencies distracted. Although it was a hope that the public rights to information will ensure the proper trial, it can make a harmful pressure on the jury. Due to this adverse impact, they cannot totally focus on judging the defendant and giving the letter of the court. To sum up, I partly agree with the opinion that the detailed description about crime will have some disadvantageous impacts on the public. However, it still benefits us in various ways, so the government should strictly control the media to mitigate its shortcomings and ensure the appropriate function of the legal system.