The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Throughout history, smoking has been one of the most common detrimental habits among people from all over the world. Although the potential risks of such a pursuit are widely perceived, not few individuals proceed with this calamity. In this essay I will try to address possible causes for such behavioral patterns, and later suggesting ways by which society could fight this plague. Over the past decades, scientists have studied and investigated the root causes behind this phenomon. It is commonly argued, that substance addiction is the main culprit in this topic, most smokers are chemically addicted to Nicotine, as they are not able to conduct their lives without consuming this poison in a daily manner. In addition, some young people are heavily affected by surrounding social pressures, therefore they consider smoking as an important sharing activity in order to feel as a legitimate member. Furthermore, cigarette companies make constant attempts to maintain the popularity of their products through huge advertisments in the media. Recently, a few solutions have been suggested in order to cope with this awful habit. In educational circles, targeting campaignes have been commenced to lay bare the devastating effects of smoking to the teenagers, hopefully they will be deeply acquainted with the damage of cigarettes prior to using this product. It is the duty of governments to legislate laws restricting places for smokers, so that effective law enforcement could reduce smoking in society through enhancing deterrance. To conclude, In my opinion, there have to be mutual efforts in order to mitigate the risks of smoking. If authorities and schools managed to be more involved in this battle, numbers of smokers would reduce dramatically.