The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Nowadays, people know very well that smoking is dangerous. However, many of them not able to leave this habit. The following essay will give a detailed explanation of the various causes and solutions to overcome smoking in society. To begin with, there are several causes of why people sustain the habit of smoking. Firstly, people are worried about their social status. For example, if a young adult does not have any habit of smoking but everyone in his group is smoking, then he will also start smoking because he wants to increase his social status. Secondly, most of the public has started smoking because of an increased level of stress in everyday life. To illustrate this, if a person is financially weak and he is not getting any job to fulfill his basic needs, then eventually he will start smoking. On the other hand, there are various ways to prevent smoking in society. Doctors and other health care professionals can conduct seminars or programs so that they can spread awareness among people related to smoking. For instance, they can conduct programs through which they can explain its side effects and diseases that occur due to smoking such as lung cancer. In addition to that, the government should impose some amount of tax when people below 18 years of age are developing the habit of smoking and by doing that, I hope smoking get eradicated from society. To conclude, though it is not easy to avoid smoking, the government and doctors can find out some ways to reduce smoking to some extent. That can be done by conducting some health awareness programs, building rehab centers, and imposing taxes on minors who does smoking.