The costs of international travel are decreasing and tourism is growing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of increasing tourism activity in different countries?

Now a day, international air fares have declined tremendously resulting in increased tourist traffic in many countries. This essay will discuss how tourism can help countries to enhance their revenues and will also discuss how increased tourist activities can result in deterioration of key natural sites as the primary disadvantage. To begin with, tourism has become a major catalyst of economic activity for many developing nations around the world. Countries which do not have an abundance of natural resources can make use of the natural sites and scenery to diversify their revenue base. For example, Thailand has been able attract an ever increasing number tourists each year to its beautiful lush green beaches. Besides this, another added advantage of tourism is that the government can use the income earned from such activities on building essential infrastructure like railroads, schools and hospitals, thus, improving living conditions for its residents. However, one key disadvantage emanating from increasing tourism is the harm caused by visitors to the natural environment. For instance, very recently it was reported on the African Herald that two gorillas belonging to a group of rare species, died in South Africa’s Wildlife Safari after eating poisonous food that was given to them by one of the visitors. Littering is another major problem. Enhanced levels of littering on beaches have caused the water to become polluted, consequently, impacting sea plants and animals. To conclude, though, tourism is absolutely essential to the world economy and has far reaching positive economic consequences for developing countries, but at the same time the negative aspects associated with tourism such as its harmful effect on the natural habitat cannot be disregarded.