The continued rise in the world population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The spontaneous increase in the number of people globally is considered as one of the biggest challenges of society at this current period. This essay will discuss the possible cause of this inevitable growing statistics and my opinion. Nowadays, the unceasing rise on global population is the reason behind the many difficulties we are currently facing. These problems affect not only an individual but also the whole world. Primarily, over population can lead us to face the problem with the demand and supply of our basic needs. Commonly, the priority needs of people such as food, clothing, shelter, and water cannot be accessed or attain due to inadequate supply of this goods. Also, education and jobs opportunities become insufficient. Thus, leaving many people poor. This is evidenced by a crowded country such as India, wherein many people live in a small box like houses and does not have any means to make a decent living. Generally, the usual root of overpopulation is poverty. The lack of educational resources for people and lack of knowledge in family planning produces huge booms in population. Additionally, as higher illiteracy rate becomes rampant it contributes to unwanted pregnancies leading to higher birth rates. However, in my opinion our greatest difficulty is poverty rather than overpopulation which is among its accompanying problem and the solution is to provide an access to education. In my view, if people are more educated people will have an increase awareness of themselves as well as their conditions and they can make an essential logical decision including how to start a family or even at giving birth. Furthermore, if education will be accessed by a large scope of people, there will be many more proactive in engaging themselves in finding solutions to existing problems such as this issue. To conclude, the greatest problem faced by society today is poverty and increasing population is just one of its products together with conflicts, destruction of peace, environmental degradation, and the scarcity of goods available.