People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. with this opinion?

A health system, also sometimes referred to as healthcare system, is the organization of people, institutions, and resources that deliver health care services to meet the health needs of target populations. The fundamental purpose of health care is to enhance quality of life by improving health. Several countries have different way of providing healthcare to their citizens. In UAE, it is mandatory that employers provide health insurance to their employees and their immediate family. Health insurance protects us from unexpected, high medical costs. It seems to me that some people who has a better health insurance coverage doesn’t take care of themselves because they know that they can go to the hospital anytime compare to those who have insurance but with big amount of deductible on every check-up. Although some may be taking advantages, I do not agree with the idea that people who cause their own illness should pay more for their healthcare. It is difficult to prove self-inflicted diseases. There is no guarantee that if you don’t smoke you won’t get lung cancer. Furthermore, healthy lifestyle doesn’t guarantee a long and healthy life. I myself exercise a lot but recently diagnosed with high blood pressure. My parents also eat healthy food such as organic vegetables and fruits but despite of it, my Mom developed diabetes. Unhealthy lifestyle alone does not cause diseases. Stress may be a factor too. Stress is a natural physical and mental reaction to life experiences. Frequent or chronic stress will make our heart work too hard for too long that may cause stroke or heart attack. I don’t agree that it is right to let people pay more if they get sick as it is difficult to prove if they cause it or not. I think what the government can do is to make healthy food accessible and affordable. Provide more public parks so people can walk and exercise. Provide affordable mental health professional services. In this way, we can continue to be healthy not just physically but mentally too.