The causes & effects of having kids later in life.

Nowsdays, the trend of late marriage and late childbearing is increasing all over the world. It has many causes and negative effects. This issue will be discussed by the following essay. There are many causes of having kids late in the life. Firstly, women are participating in more and more social activities, contributing to important fields, which makes them want to achieve high education, stable careers and stable finances before wanting to have children. Secondly, many women think that they can still have children later thanks to assisted reproductive technology. Finally, having children late ensure family happiness. Over a long time living together, couple have accumulated a lot of experiences and understand each other better. This will help them raise their children better. There are many drawbacks of having children late. Firstly, for the mother during pregnancy, there is a risk of miscarriage, premature birth and eclampsia. Second, for children at risk of birth defects, mental retardation, such as Down, Edward, Patau disease. Statistics show that the rate of children with Down syndrome increases with the age of the mother. when a mother gives birth after 35 years old is 1/365, mother after 40 years old up to 1/100. Another disadvantage, there is difficult to have kids because as age increases, the number of eggs decreases along with a decrease in sex hormones. Finally, there is no time to rest, still have to take care of the children when they are old. To sum up, late childbirth has many causes and negative effects. Currently, there are many policies to encourage early childbirth. Hopefully, this problem will be resolved.