The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one-third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

In modern Europe, the problem of birth rates has become very actual. As a result, many issues will arise, and the present generation of people will see a significant number of changes. It is essential to outline some notable aspects of this question, such as the rise in the number of new migrants and the ruin of the pension system, which can be compensated only by a decrease of pensions. First of all, the population of every country is a working force, and the lack of it creates many problems for the economy. At the same time, there are several solutions to this problem that are appropriate in the world. For example, to attract people from developing countries to reside in Europe with the aim of filling the gap. Unfortunately, it is predictable that this tendency can make worse the relations on the cultural base, and this the reason why certain parts of society do not accept this idea. Secondly, the stability of the pension system depends on one vital factor – the number of people who work and pay their taxes. The decline of the population always leads to a reduction of budget revenue and an economy in state spending. In this case, the government is obligated to make some unpopular decisions, for instance, to reduce pensions. This solution is regarded as negative. However, it is the most suitable answer in this situation. In conclusion, it is important to make a remark here; that the decline of the population is a very negative trend which can bring some bad consequences, such as the problem with the workforce, or the crisis of the pension system. However, there are some unpleasant solutions to these problems, the reduction of pensions and changes in migration policy with the target of attracting new employees from foreign countries.