Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

In this century, many high schools added unpaid community service into the school programmes, students can be optional to do the volunteer work. Recently, some people think that it should become a compulsory part of the high school curriculum. In my option, I strongly agree with this idea. I think the outcome has various benefits while some people disagree about it. Firstly, a high school is the place for the young people to get the knowledge and prepare themself to become an adult. The way I see it, nowaday a lot of parents give too much protection to their children. Therefore, some students may not need to work or do a volunteer in their school life until they graduate. Consequently, once they get into the real world and they may not be able to fit in the adult world. Thus, I think that every single student should take this chance to make an experience of the work life. Furthermore, to volunteer in the community is one of the best ways to learn more about the people and things surrounding. People may live in the community for a long time, but it doesn't mean they are well known about the neighbours, facilitates and history. Hence, this is an opportunity to meet people and learn to communicate. In conclusion, unpaid community service is a positive way for young people to get some warm up to real life in their future. The familiar environment and short distance both are more easy for the student and reduce the stress.