The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week.

Undoubtedly, traffic congestion has become a global problem that jeopardizes human activities and also have detrimental impact on the environment. Therefore, some echelons of the society subscribe to the view that providing free public transport round-the-clock, is a fruitful way for government to mitigate the problem of traffic snarls; however, I think that there is a plethora of solutions to overcome this issue to large extent. To begin with, one of the most effective way of reducing the traffic jams on roads is that government had better build wider roads and flyovers which is a far better alternative way to solve this matter. As a result, the rate of accidents will also decrease to great extent. Moreover, if authority enact stringent rules and regulations against those people who flout such norms, the issue of traffic will automatically reduce. To cite an example, in Vietnam, where the rate of traffic has less due to strict rules of the government as if people try to cross the red light, they have to pay 200, 000 VND on the spot. Consequently, people will conscience about such issue. Furthermore, no doubt that when the exchequer give free public transport service 24 hours to city dwellers, it will put a heavy pressure on shoulder of them, as they have to spend a big chunk of money on maintaining train and buses, also improving the public infrastructures. What's more, it has witnessed that problem of traffic is more intense in peak hours, so providing free pass every hours in all days, is not a realistic solution. In conclusion, it is immensely clear that there are myriad number of ways of solving the situation in metropolis which I have mentioned in the above paragraphs. THIS PHRASE/WORD IS TOO SIMPLE AND CAN BE REPLACED WITH: consequentlySo I would reiterate my opinion that if government and individual join helping hand against such issue, it can be tackled out to large extent.