The besl woy for lhe goyernmenf fo solve the problem of lroffic congeslion in cifies, is fo provide free public lronsport 24 hours o doy, 7 doys o week. To whal exfenf do you ogree or drsogree wilh rhis slolemenl?

Some people opine that the finest solution to urban traffic congestion is to provide free public transport round-the-clock. l, however, beg to differ. I believe that free public transport could help in solving the traffic problem to some extent, but it definitely is not the best solution, as it would lead to many other problems. Undoubtedly, many people, especially daily commuters, would benefit from free public transport. But such a service would be a big burden on the governments, as it would require a lot of funds to maintain such free services. Moreover, a considerable proportion of these services would be wasted, as these would be underused on weekends and midnights. Therefore, it would not be practical on economic grounds to run free public transport. There are numerous ways to solve the traffic problems. The most effective would be to encourage people to use public transport. This could be done by decreasing the fare, increasing the comfort and increasing the frequency of public transport. Obviously, if people do not have to waste time waiting for the bus or train, get comfortable seats and have to pay far less than what they would have to spend on their own personal vehicle, then they would willingly choose public transport, and would not mind paying for it. So this step would prove better than giving a totally free public transport. Additionally, the government could levy toll tax and increase the price of fuel to discourage people from using their own cars. Media could be used to aware people about simple measures like car-pooling. For instance, if five people from one block of flats have to go to the same office, they could each take out their car for one day a week. This would be a win-win situation for the environment and the people. To sum up, having a totally free public transport would not be practical to implement, as it would not be economically viable for the government. Therefore, it would not be the best method. The better methods would be to encourage people to use public transport by making it better.