The Benefits of Taking University Electives

It is often argued whether universities should or should not require students to take classes in many subjects. To gain the benefits of further developing student’s skills and better preparing for the future, I completely agree that taking elective courses should be mandatory for university education. Having experience and knowledge in subjects outside a student's field of study will provide insight into things one might not have considered before, and can make a student more well rounded. Sure, a lawyer might not need a finance class, but wouldn’t it help to know how to manage personal finance? A medical school student may not need to take communication, but couldn’t knowing how to communicate effectively and comfort patients properly be useful? Since most university students are young in their early 20’s, it is wrong to set limitations on learning and stop exploring new ideas. If a student only takes major required classes, learning might become boring and eventually lack motivation. Just like if I only eat my favorite foods everyday, I will be fed up and wouldn’t like those foods as much as before. The elective courses tend to be a little more lighthearted which offers a mental break from major-required courses that are all about the same subject. In addition, the elective courses not only keep school interesting and intriguing, but also provide possibilities of starting new hobbies. It is possible to obtain a 2nd major or minor if electives are focused on one specific area. Having double majors or minors demonstrates the capabilities of a wilder range of skill set, various knowledge, and great ambition, which equip more competitiveness in the job market. If a company is planning to open a new branch office abroad, the sales manager with a second major in international business would have better chances to be promoted to branch director. To conclude, I strongly believe that universities need to require students to take classes in many subjects for the benefits of well-rounded education, keeping learning interesting and wilder knowledge. As the old saying “opportunity is for those who are prepared”, one could only reap what was sown. So never underestimate the elective courses taken in university.