The Benefits of Learning a Foreign Language

The first benefit is that the communication skills obtained from learning a foreign language increase the chance of getting a better job. To give an example, when a Turkish person speaks a foreign language such as English or French, s/he has an advantage over another individual who does not when s/he applies for a job. In addition to this, having a second language means that a person can work with businesses and customers from other countries easily. It is clear that this situation eventually leads to more business or partnerships with foreign companies. Therefore, a person’s life is improved because s/he is more likely to be hired for a job thanks to his or her knowledge of a foreign language. Secondly, learning a foreign language enhances cultural understanding. A foreign language is like a key to a different culture within a community. That is to say, knowing a different language opens up communication with other members of a community that might not speak the same language. In addition, when a person learns a foreign language, s/he can understand and enjoy another culture's literature, arts and music. For instance, s/he can go to an art exhibition or a play and understand it easily while another person who doesn’t speak that language can be lost in that event. In brief, a foreign language improves the lifestyle of a person because it develops the communication with and understanding of other cultures. Last but not least, learning a foreign language makes travelling to other countries easier. There is nothing worse than going to a foreign country and not being able to communicate. Learning a foreign language makes the vacation better because one will be safer in the country s/he is visiting. If a person knows the language there, the chances of being taken advantage of, such as by being overcharged, are lower. In addition, a foreign language assists the individual in having a more efficient agenda while traveling. In short, a person’s lifestyle is improved due to the ability to communicate with locals while on holiday. All in all, there are many benefits of learning a foreign language including better job opportunities, cultural enrichment and better traveling conditions. These are not the only benefits of learning a foreign language, but overall they are the best reasons and motivation for learning a new language. Thus, everyone should try to learn at least one foreign language.