The benefit of vehicle-free day

There is no doubt that traffic and pollution have become huge problems. A vehicle-free day may be an effective way to mitigate this problem. Although restricting private vehicles may bring some inconveniences to some families, I believe that the benefits clearly outweigh them. People support the car-free day for two reasons. Firstly, this program will bring about an end to the PM2. 5 emitted by car exhausts, which will alleviate environmental pollution. PM2. 5 is one of the main factors of this pollution, and so a car restriction will greatly improve the air quality. Easing the traffic is another benefit. As the public transport system in major cities has become more affordable and efficient, there is less need to drive a car. An increase in public transport use means that a greater volume of people are moved along the streets at the same time - lessening the congestion on busy roads. In spite of this, there are drawbacks to restricting cars. It is quite common these days for people to buy their own car due to the convenience and flexibility. If cars were banned in the city centre, how could people travel to and from work? This is probably true to some extent. However, public transport is more convenient and flexible than private ones, especially in major cities. Beijing is one of the cities that have a reputation for perfect underground railway systems, and these systems can take passengers to the place wherever they want without worrying about traffic congestion. Since the public transport has already been so effective and efficient, there is no need to drive private vehicles. In conclusion, the car-free day brings more benefits than drawbacks, and it should receive the support required from the citizens and the city officials.