The amount of time spend on sports and exercises should be increased in schools in order to tackle the problem of overweight children? Do you think this is the best way to deal with the problem? What other solutions can you suggest?

Obesity is a disease and not a repercussion of binge eating especially in kids. Some are affected by being over weight due to genetic reasons but there are various factors which also contribute to children being overweight. This essay we will discuss how schools can take necessary measures to curb the ill effects of children being over weight. Schools can introduce numerous ways of tackling obesity in children right from childhood. Many schools have introduced an array of sports and extra curricular activities for children in school. But this can lead to serious repercussions if it is not followed in the right manner. It would not be the best idea to put children through robust gymnastics or sport activities. It would not only affect a child’s mental well being but they would also grow up to repulse the idea of any physical activities which would be harmful for their future. For example, survey carried by Harvard university found out that 51 percent of children repulsed the idea of physical activities in school in 2011. However, schools can introduce different approach to this problem by introducing an array of measures such as; introducing one on one sessions for inculcating healthy food habits, another way can be giving an option to children to choose between which activities they prefer such as yoga and meditation, gymnastics, dance and so on instead of putting them through mandatory extreme sports exercises. For example, International schools in Britain gave the choice of selecting physical activities to kids and saw a substantial increase in the number of participation. To conclude, schools are responsible for child’s well being and therefore must provide creative ways to tackle the problem of obesity rather than subduing them to unwilling participation in extreme sports activities.